Host family fun

by Jeffrey Carter

At my previous job, I was a host family for a student from China.  Pu Ying enriched my life, and made some great food.  I hope that I did the same for his, and for him.

4815670I don’t have a host family relationship with anyone at Webster, but I do occasionally take international students out for a meal or to something cultural.  My sophomore voice student Kyle has a Japanese roommate, Kan, this year.  Tonight I took both of them to King and I for some Thai food.  More importantly, we made the stop at Jay International Grocery on South Grand (pic at right), where Kan picked up all sort of things for his kitchen in the apartment at Webster.  His smile told of the happiness he felt.  I was truly gratified.

The gelato with which we topped off the evening was a delight too.

