Guest blog

by Jeffrey Carter

From Dr. Carla Colletti, Assistant Professor of Music, and a new member of the Webster University faculty:

I have often thought that the beginning of a new semester is like a roller coaster ride.  As the final month of summer vacation draws to a close, I begin preparing for my classes, but everything appears to be moving in slow motion, much like the coaster’s slow ascent to the first “big drop.”  The final weekend arrives, and I make the final adjustments to my plans, questioning whether I’m ready for the first day.  With this weekend comes a tinge of apprehension, which reminds me of the feeling I get immediately before the roller coaster drops.   By this time, though, there is no turning back; it’s time to sit back and enjoy the ride.

And what a ride my first few weeks are turning out to be!  I am extremely busy and loving every minute of it.  Each day brings about new challenges and rewarding interactions.  I wouldn’t go so far as to say that I look forward to the buzz of my alarm every morning (I’m not a morning person), but I am truly excited to get to work each day.  I am enjoying learning about my students, my colleagues, and my new home at Webster.  There is a tangible creative energy present here that I really have never felt anywhere else, and it continues to motivate me to put forth my best work.  And as I learn more about the school and people I see every day, I realize that Webster really is a special place, and I am so happy to be a part of it.

