Songs

by Jeffrey Carter

The semester is over, but I’m hearing in my mind the sound of my students’ voices this week.  Several jury songs are stuck and I can’t seem to let them go.

My seniors – three theatre majors – are especially present.

Kyle, an acting major from Cincinnati, stretched mightily this term and embraced Carl Loewe’s Edward, an early 19th-century murder ballad.  I just can’t get his haunting shriek of a last line, “the curse of hell,” from my mind.  That ballad was a fun romp, and I’m so glad he liked the piece enough to grapple with it.

Audrey, my fabulous musical theatre soprano, chose to sing A Letter from Sullivan Ballou.  I was in tears at several lessons as she interpreted the innards out of this piece.  She embodied the song at her jury, and I’m stuck now with “Always, always” from the last minute of the song.

Jared, musical theatre tenor from Illinois, took a chance on a big sing, and succeeded.  I’ve been waiting for years for a tenor or soprano to sing Lalba separa dalla luce lombra by Tosti.  Jared decided to set placidity aside and go for the moment.  His build-up to the high B-flat at “eterno” was thrilling.

I have other talented and challenging and gratifying students, and every one of them sang a fine jury this term.  But these three are on my mind this weekend, and in my inner ears.

The long goodbye of the senior year marches on.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

