Commemoration concert

by Jeffrey Carter

This past Sunday, faculty members gathered in concert to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the beginning of World War I in 1914, and the 70th anniversary of D-Day (1944).  Prof. Carole Gaspar, director of vocal studies, curated the event.

After several changes of program, we ended up with a concert mostly of melodies by Francis Poulenc (1899-1963), with a bit of Ravel thrown in at the end (and gloriously so!).

I sang Poulenc’s “Priez pour paix.” My colleagues Martha J. Hart, Debby Lennon, Eric Dalbey, and Jamie Haughey also performed, as did Daniel Schene, with Nancy Mayo providing marvelous and meaningful collaboration throughout the 90-minute concert.

Here are a few (rather poor, I fear) shots from my set at the front of house left:

