by Jeffrey Carter

We end each school year with a recognition breakfast.

Amongst this year’s Department of Music recognitions:

Five years of service
Trent Patterson

Ten years of service
Ron McGowan

Fifteen years of service
Neal Richardson
Carol Schmidt

Twenty years of service
John McClellan
Ruth Price

Twenty-five years of service
Jim Martin
Sue Martin

Thirty-five years of service
Steve Schenkel

Steve Schenkel

Steve Schenkel

As we conclude the 2014-15 school year, we celebrate happy news about people with whom we have studied, learned, and labored.

Brooke Vonderheide (BA 2015) received The George Herbert Walker III Award for Leadership, which is awarded to the graduating senior who has demonstrated the most significant combination of academic achievement and leadership during his or her student years at Webster University. The award comes with a $2,100 scholarship.  Brooke graduated from Webster University this weekend, and is pursuing graduate work next semester at Ball State University.

Dr. Glen A. Bauer, Professor, Associate Chair, Director of Graduate Studies, and Director of Music History, was awarded on Friday evening the 2015 William T. Kemper Award for Excellence in Teaching. This award, generously funded by the William T. Kemper Foundation, recognizes faculty members who demonstrate teaching at its finest. Four Kemper Awards were presented: two for full-time faculty members on the St. Louis campus who each receive a $10,000 award, and two adjunct faculty members (all campuses and online) who each receive a $5,000 award.

Faculty members were also recently notified of promotions and changes of status as approved by the Board of Trustees.  Dr. Carla Colletti and Prof. Martha Hart received Continuing Status and were promoted to Associate Professor.  Dr. Paul Davis received Continuing Status.  Dr. Jeffrey Carter was promoted to Professor.

We celebrate these accomplishments as we close this extraordinary school year.