Laying low

by Jeffrey Carter

I am taking today an unaccustomed day at home.  Hayfever allergies have reduced me to a mass of aches and pains from coughing.  I’m trying to stave off a secondary infection, since that seems to be the usual lot when something like this hits (as it does every fall).

But I am working from home, and accomplishing some delayed tasks related to the Missouri Association of Departments and Schools of Music, the American Choral Directors Association, and the like.

And Samson seems pleased I’m home today.

I’m saddened, though, that this glorious weather outdoors is not accommodating for me.  One stop outside the house and the sneezing starts up again.

Bottom line: the world is not ending even as I take a day away from school.  And that’s a lesson we all could learn.

